FAQs

  1. How long is the LTC class?
  2. What is the cost of the LTC class?
  3. What is included in the cost of the LTC class?
  4. Do I need to bring lunch with me?
  5. What topics are covered in the LTC class?
  6. Where is the class held?
  7. What type of gun can I use for the range qualification?
  8. At what distances do I have to shoot from during the range qualification?
  9. What is the passing score for the range qualification?
  10. What happens if I do not pass the range qualification?
  11. What do I need to bring to class?
  12. Who is eligible to obtain a Texas LTC?
  13. How much does the Texas LTC cost?
  14. Where can I find more information about the Texas License to Carry?

  1. How long is the LTC class?
    The Texas Department of Public Safety requires a minimum of 4 hours of training for a new applicant. The class includes 4 hours of classroom instruction and range qualification.


  2. What is the cost of the LTC class?
    The fee is $75. To pay in full once your class date/time is confirmed, please mail your payment or click on the "Enroll in a LTC Class" heading to pay via PayPal. 


  3. What is included in the cost of the LTC class?
    The class fee includes classroom instruction and range qualification. Fingerprint services are not included for LTC applicants. You must schedule to have your fingerprints taken by L-1 Enrollment Services.


  4. What topics are covered in the LTC class?
    Students will receive classroom instruction pertaining to deadly force, dispute resolution, concealed handgun law, gun safety and storage, selection of a concealed carry gun, legislative changes, handgun accuracy training, and the handgun proficiency test.


  5. Where is the class held?
    The class is held at the Streater Range, a state-certified shooting range with a classroom. It is located 8 miles east of Hamilton, Texas.


  6. What type of gun can I use for the range qualification?
    You must complete the range qualification with a semi-auto or revolver of at least .32 caliber. You can legally carry either after obtaining your LTC.


  7. At what distances do I have to shoot from during the range qualification?
    From a standing position, you will fire 20 rounds from 3 yards, 20 rounds from 7 yards, and 10 rounds from 15 yards. The target will be a B27 silhouette.


  8. What is the passing score for the range qualification?
    You must score 70% or greater in order to pass.


  9. What happens if I do not pass the range qualification?
    You may take the range proficiency test up to 3 times before you are classified as failed. You must have 50 rounds of ammunition for each attempt.


  10. What do I need to bring to class?
    You should bring the following items with you to class:
    • A handgun that is in good working condition. A loaner handgun is available for a reasonable fee based on current ammo prices.
    • 50 rounds of factory ammunition. RELOADS ARE NOT ALLOWED.
    • Two magazines for a semi-auto handgun. One magazine is okay if you don't have two available.
    • Hearing protection
    • Eye protection - Eye glasses will suffice.
    • Clothing that is suitable for a shooting range and weather conditions.


  11. Who is eligible to obtain a Texas LTC?
    Generally, you must be at least 21 years of age and not a convicted felon. Eligibility requirements are listed on the Texas DPS website.


  12. How much does the Texas LTC license cost?
    Generally, the license fee is $140 for a 5-year license. If you are 60 or older, the license fee is $70. Information regarding exceptions can be found on the Texas DPS website.


  13. Where can I find more information about the Texas License to Carry?
    Visit the Texas DPS website.


back to top of page »